Personal Injury and Workers’ Compensation Attorneys.
In the event of a car accident, liability coverage provides protection for at-fault drivers. But, what does this mean? Put simply, if a claim is made against you by another person (“third-party”), alleging that you were negligent or otherwise at fault for an accident, your liability insurance company must afford the injured party (third-party) coverage for all payments including damage to their property and serious injury or death that resulted from the accident.
In addition, your insurance company must provide you with a legal defense against such claims, without reducing your policy’s liability limits.
The minimum limits of third-party bodily injury liability coverage mandated by New York’s Vehicle and Traffic Law are:
As to property damage, the minimum limit of coverage required by New York State law for damage to another party’s vehicle or property, is $10,000 per accident.
Not only does liability insurance provide indemnification (coverage) for you in an event of an accident, it is also required to operated a vehicle in New York State. Under Section 319 of the New York State Law, any driver that operates a vehicle without proper insurance shall be cited a fine of between $150 and $1,500, or 15 days in jail. To find out more, contact our Queens Car Accident Lawyers today.